Popular App Update Has Users Concerned For Safety

Snapchat map update raises child safety worries

Snapchat Releases Location-Sharing Feature

A new Snapchat geolocation function released last week may be dishing out more personal information than users were counting on.

Open up your Snapchat app and on the screen where you take the pictures, pinch your fingers on the screen to open up the map.

It allows users to pinpoint their friends' exact location. Within minutes, she was able to guess her friend's address, which she hadn't previously known.

"If I had a friend that was at a concert and I wasn't there, I could see where she was at and see where other people were at, and pretty much be at that concert via Snapchat", she said.

The popular social media app Snapchat promotes its latest feature as a new way to explore the world, but critics say it comes with major privacy concerns.

Thrash says she doesn't mind the location feature on the app and uses Snap Map to keep track of her son.

The spokeswoman explained that with Snap Map, location-sharing is off by default for all users and is completely optional. Experts also suggest parents make sure they know who their kids' friends are on Snapchat and also talk to their children about who they add on Snapchat and being selective about what the word "friend" means.

There's no question the app has gained popularity among its users, but its most recent update is raising privacy concerns. You can see where others are but they can't see you. You're friends with the boss on Snapchat. and she can see you are at the beach. Tapping on them will reveal their most recent Story.

Even police services are advising users to turn on Snapchat's Ghost Mode. It doesn't matter whether you use an Android or an iOS device as the feature is now rolling out worldwide to all users. However, on its lowest privacy settings, this feature is created to broadcast your location to everyone on your friends list whenever you open the app.

"Please share this to make people aware, Snapchat has a lot of young users on, if your children are on please check that they have their location set to "ghost mode", that way no one can see where they are".

Latest News