Muguruza blows away Venus to take first Wimbledon crown

Serena Williams

Serena Williams has been making her own financial decisions since she was a teenager. Scott Barbour GettyImages

Venus Williams of the U.S. with Great Britain's Johanna Konta after winning their semi final match at Wimbledon, July 13, 2017.

Williams will become the oldest Grand Slam champion in the Open Era if she wins the title tomorrow.

"You know, I played her also before".

In 2003, with the Venus-Serena combine truly reigning over the women's game, the elder sister had her first serious injury (abdomen) - she dropped outside the top-ten for the first time since 1997. In a tournament that had been blown wide open, not only due to Serena's absence as she awaits the birth of her first child, the absence of Maria Sharapova after her come-back from a drug suspension was hit with injury, the title was for the taking for numerous chasing pack. "And usually it's her in these finals, so I'm trying my best to represent "Williams" as best as I can".

Venus Williams vs Garbine Muguruza is scheduled for a 2pm BST, 3pm CET, 6.30pm IST, 9am ET, 11pm AEDT start.

Watched from the Royal Box by King Juan Carlos of Spain, the 23-year-old finally got her hands on the Venus Rosewater Dish two years after losing to the American's sister Serena in her maiden Wimbledon final. "But I definitely feel like there's no reason why I would not be able to be in a position to win a title like this one day".

Garbine Muguruza stormed to her first Wimbledon title and shattered Venus Williams' history bid with a majestic 7-5, 6-0 victory in Saturday's final.

Williams arrived in England a few weeks after being involved in a two-car accident in Florida; not long afterward, a passenger in the other vehicle died.

At 37, Williams was bidding for her sixth championship at the grass-court major, 17 years after her first. "I'm not sure exactly what she's doing". "One more would be incredible", Venus said as reported by AFP.

Wade, meanwhile, said Konta should be proud of her run.

"I think it can only be a positive thing at home", Konta said.

Venus Williams at The All England Lawn Tennis Club in Wimbledon, southwest London, July 11.

"I still have a little time left", said Williams, who won her first Grand Slam almost 20 years ago.

Muguruza overwhelmed 87th-ranked Magdalena Rybarikova of Slovakia 6-1, 6-1 in the earlier semifinal.

Inspired by her decision to hire compatriot Conchita Martinez as her temporary coach for Wimbledon, Muguruza has enjoyed a revival of her own over the last fortnight. She managed to save one break point, but cheaply conceded the next with another double fault.

"That's one of the reasons I don't play singles anymore because I don't want to put my body through the struggles anymore", Hingis said.

When this Wimbledon lacked its customary empress, its women's singles event gained the description "wide-open" and had the chance to yield a final that would be weird, anonymous or even clunky.

Three-seeded Rodger Federer defeated eleventh-seeded Tomas Berdych 7-6 (7-4), 7-6 (7-4), 6-4 to advance to his eleventh Wimbledon final. "I don't think she needs to be discouraged at all", the 1977 champion said.

Latest News