Rajya Sabha poll: Dharmendra Pradhan files nomination from Madhya Pradesh

BSP Chief Mayawati. | File PTI

BSP Chief Mayawati. | File PTI

Horse-trading and floor-crossing is not uncommon and the state has witnessed it during Rajya Sabha polls in the past.

If elected, this will be Chandrasekhar's third stint as a Rajya Sabha member.

For Upper House elections on March 23, Congress's list 0f ten includes Abhishek Manu Singhvi, Kumar Ketkar and three from Karnataka, where assembly polls are due soon. With ally Shiv Sena announcing a split in the alliance with the BJP for the next Lok Sabha polls, the party believes that his presence will strengthen its base in the state.

From Jharkhand, the party has chosen Sameer Uranv, who is said to be close to CM Raghubar Das. "The party has allied with Bodoland People's Front in Assam, National Democratic Front in Nagaland", Khader said.

More news: Manchester United must win to advance in UCL

Monday is the final day for filing of nominations.

Rupala, Mandavia, and Yagnik filed their nominations well before the Election Commission's 3 pm deadline. "He has fought in favour of many pro-Kannada movements", he told reporters after Chandrasekhar filed his nomination papers. Reports suggested that his chartered plane was not granted permission to land, owing to maintenance of runway of Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel International Airport in Ahmedabad. Going by this statistic, if MLAs of both the parties vote as per their party whip, both Congress and BJP are poised to win two seats each. So, the party opted to nominate Jaitley from Uttar Pradesh.

In this contest, a candidate needs 37 first preference votes to emerge victorious. One of its leaders P K Valera has filed his nomination as an independent candidate with the support of some Congress MLAs. Earlier, the party had announced names of eight candidates, including the name Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley.

The BJP and the Congress have announced lists of 18 and 12 candidates respectively for the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections from Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Gujarat, Bihar, Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan. I will act as a coordinator between state and the Centre. Nitin is a member of UP Assembly from Samajwadi Party from Hardoi. It will be your one stop shop for all the updates on the campaigns, manifestos, and politicking ahead of the 2018 Karnataka Assembly elections.

Últimas noticias