Rajya Sabha polls: BJP fields Narayan Rane, Rahatkar

Rajya Sabha elections on March 23 as BJP fields 3 more candidates

Rajya Sabha elections on March 23 as BJP fields 3 more candidates

If necessary, the elections will be held on March 23.

Uttarakhand BJP candidate Anil Baluni formally filed his nomination papers for the Rajya Sabha Monday.Accompanied by CM TS Rawat, Cabinet minister Madan Kaushik, BJP chief Ajay Bhatt, Baluni submitted his nomination papers before the Returning Officer Madan Singh Kunjwal and Assistant Returning officer Neeraj Gaur at the Vidhan Sabha.

The names of former Indian cricket captain Mohammad Azharuddin and Pradesh Congress Committee treasurer Guduru Narayana Reddy are doing rounds in the party circles. "This is the reason party has given me chance for RS seat". Today was the last day for filing nominations. Mansukh Mandavia, minister of state for road transport and highways, and shipping, chemicals and fertilizers; and Parshottam Rupala, minister of state for panchayati raj, agriculture and farmers welfare filed their nominations for the Rajya Sabha on Monday. Rathwa, meanwhile, claimed that his papers were in order and rushed to submit his nomination papers just before the 3 pm deadline. Reports suggested that his chartered plane was not granted permission to land, owing to maintenance of runway of Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel International Airport in Ahmedabad.

Naranbhai Rathwa and Amee Yajnik will contest from Gujarat, while Dhiraj Prasad will contest from Jharkhand.

BJP has also chose to field Rajeev Chandrasekhar as party nominee from Karnataka while U Sameer will be saffron party candidate from Jharkhand.

More news: Waterford native is new American Idol music director; worked with Katy Perry

The BJP, which has a 45-member strength in the State Assembly, can easily win one Rajya Sabha seat and the party plans to spring a surprise by fielding a party worker.

"There is infighting in the Congress and they are confused about their candidates".

BJP's allies the BSR (Congress) and the Karnataka Janata Party (KJP), floated by its former Chief Minister B.S. Yeddyurappa, have three seats and two seats, respectively. He is one of the founder members of the Samajwadi Party and a seven-term MLA. The party opted for a tribal candidate in Jharkhand to reach out to the Scheduled tribes.

However, the Congress party requires at least 40 MLAs to win the Rajya Sabha seat. Political observers, however, believe given their strenuous relations, it will be a herculean task for BJP leadership to convince Sena president Uddhav Thackeray to have his MLAs cast votes in its favour. Despite this measure, 12 of the party MLAs had cross voted.

Últimas noticias